Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers
If you were arrested for or charged with a crime in Texas, do not hesitate to contact The Law Office of William Jang, PLLC. We might be able to represent you in your case and defend against the criminal charge you face.
It can be a scary experience when you’re arrested for a criminal offense, such as DWI, theft, or assault. You suddenly face an uncertain future and don’t know if you will have to serve time in prison. You should have an experienced and dedicated legal team by your side to fight for your freedom.
Don’t let your future rest in the hands of an overworked public defender or unqualified lawyer. Call The Law Office of William Jang, PLLC at (512) 323-2333 today for a confidential consultation with one of our trusted and dependable criminal defense lawyers in Austin, TX.
Cases The Law Office of William Jang, PLLC Takes
The Law Office of William Jang, PLLC defends clients in cases involving various criminal offenses, including:
According to Texas Penal Code 22.01, assault occurs when a person:
- Knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly causes another person bodily harm, including their spouse;
- Knowingly or intentionally threatens someone else with imminent bodily injury, including their spouse; or
- Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another person despite knowing or reasonably believing that person will regard it as provocative or offensive contact.
If specific circumstances exist, a simple assault could increase to an aggravated assault charge. According to Texas Penal Code 22.02, aggravated assault happens when a person commits assault and:
- Exhibits or uses a deadly weapon while committing the assault; or
- Causes serious bodily injury to another person, including their spouse.
Texas Penal Code 31.03 defines theft as unlawfully appropriating property with the intent to deprive the owner of the property. Appropriation is unlawful if any of these factors apply:
- The owner does not give their effective consent;
- Someone steals the property, and the offender takes the property knowing someone stole it; or
- The property is in a law enforcement agency’s custody that explicitly represents it as stolen, and the offender takes it believing another person stole it.
Theft falls under two main categories – petty theft and grand theft. The category of the offense depends on the value of the stolen property.
- Petty theft involves property valued at less than $500.
- Grand theft involves property with a value of more than $500.
Common examples of theft include:
- Unlawful use of a motor vehicle
- Identity theft
- Insurance fraud
- Possession of stolen property
DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. A person commits a DWI offense if they operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated.
A person is legally intoxicated when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reaches 0.08 percent or higher.
DWI can involve a range of circumstances that could elevate the charge and penalty the offender could face. For example, driving while intoxicated with a child passenger is a more serious crime than a simple DWI. It is punishable under state law as a state jail felony instead of a class B misdemeanor.
Sentencing Guidelines for Crimes in Texas
The sentencing guidelines below outline the maximum fine and imprisonment a judge can issue for a conviction of a criminal offense. Offenses can be either a misdemeanor or felony. The penalty a guilty defendant faces will depend on the type of crime they committed.
Class C misdemeanor
- A maximum of a $500 fine
Class B misdemeanor
- Up to a $2,000 fine;
- No more than 180 days in jail; or
Class A misdemeanor
- No more than a $4,000 fine;
- A maximum of one year in jail; or
State jail felony
- Up to a $10,000 fine
- Between 180 days and two years in state jail
- A maximum of a $10,000 fine
- Between two and ten years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
- No more than a $10,000 fine
- No less than two but no more than 20 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
- Up to a $10,000 fine
- Life or between five and 99 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
DWI is considered a class B misdemeanor. The minimum term of confinement is 72 hours, with up to 180 days in jail. The offender’s driver’s license can also be suspended for 90 to 365 days.
If a blood, urine, or breath test shows a BAC of at least 0.15 percent, the offense increases to a class A misdemeanor. A conviction can lead to a minimum of 30 days but no more than one year in jail and license suspension between 90 and 365 days.
The penalty for a theft conviction depends on the value of the stolen property.
- Under $50 – Class C misdemeanor
- Between $50 and $500 – Class B misdemeanor
- Between $500 and $1,500 – Class A misdemeanor
- Between $1,500 and $20,000 or a specific type of property with a value less than $2,000, such as livestock or a firearm – state jail felony
- Between $20,000 and $100,000 – Third-degree felony
- Between $100,000 and $200,000 – Second-degree felony
- $200,000 or more – First-degree felony
Simple assault is considered a class A misdemeanor. The penalty includes up to one year in jail and no more than a $4,000 fine. However, the offense becomes a third-degree felony if the defendant committed the crime against:
- A person with an association or relationship to the defendant according to Section 71.0021(b), 71.003, or 71.005 of the Texas Family Code; or
- A person the defendant knows is a public servant lawfully discharging their official duty or on account or in retaliation of exercising their official power or performance as a public servant.
Aggravated assault is a second-degree felony, punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and between two and 20 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
According to Texas Penal Code 12.42, repeat and habitual offenders can face enhanced sentencing for felony convictions. If someone is on trial for a felony and has a previous felony conviction on their record, the judge could increase the classification of the offense.
For example, a defendant on trial for a second-degree felony with a prior felony conviction could face sentencing for a first-degree felony crime.
At The Law Office of William Jang, PLLC, our criminal defense lawyers in Austin, TX, have decades of combined legal experience. We can protect your rights during legal proceedings and create a legal strategy to get the charges against you dropped or reduced. We will tirelessly work to try to reach your desired outcome.
If you were arrested or charged with theft, assault, or DWI, call The Law Office of William Jang, PLLC at (512) 323-2333 immediately for your initial confidential consultation.